Florida’s new texting while driving law takes effect July 1

smith and associates

Listen, you probably shouldn’t be texting while driving in the first place. Beginning July 1, getting caught will land you a steep fine. This is nothing new in the U.S. In face, Florida is one of the last states to enact such a law, according to the Associated Press.

Currently, officers only write citations for texting if the driver is pulled over for another violation. The new law means they can now pull you over for texting alone.

How much will a texting while driving citation set you back?

Drivers will be fined $30 for the first offense and $60 for the second offense. Court costs and fees also would apply, and points will be added to licenses, according to the Associated Press.

Officers won’t be handing out citations immediately. Warning will be distributed to drivers at the outset. Fines will officially start in January 2020.

This ban does not apply to your navigations system/GPS, and you won’t be cited if your car is stationary.

Be safe on the roads always St. Pete.

Featured image courtesy of Pixabay

Leave your vote

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Andrew Harlan

Andrew Harlan

Andrew Harlan is the Editor of ilovetheburg.com. Follow him on Twitter @harlanyoungII and Instagram @harlanyoung. Send tips and potential stories to info@ilovetheburg.com.